PDA

View Full Version : How do I enable the Steam overlay?



Ramor
03-11-2013, 02:11 AM
I tried the game out at SXSW. Played for a little while with one of the dev's, and really like the people, and the game. I'd like to buy something to show support, but when I try I get the "Unable to Purchase: The steam overlay is disabled. please enable the steam overlay to make in game purchases"

This message is just like a typical mathmetician's answer. Perfectly acurate, but completely useless. I have no idea what a steam overlay is, or how to enable it. I'm guessing it is the thing that comes up when I go shift-tab, and it indeed does not come up when I press shift-tab, but I have no idea why, or how to enable it.

Can you elucidate me on how?

Thanks! :)

Good luck on getting Ch1 out. I look forward to it.

Ramor
03-11-2013, 02:31 AM
I did a little more investigation
(1) I rebooted - standard windows solutions to everything. Didn't help this time.
(2) I opened another game, and checked that shift-tab opens the overlay in that context. It does.
(3) I found a you tube video that shows you can go under the menu Steam->Settings->InGame(tab) and then click the "Enable Steam Community In Game" box. This is checked.

I don't think my issue is the Steam Overlay not being enabled. I think it is something else.

Whenever I leave the game I get a crash message, but only if I press shift-tab to enable the overlay. The windows error handling window comes up multiple times if I press shift-tab multiple times

The detailed error information is

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: The Banner Saga Factions.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 508e0455
Fault Module Name: fmodex.dll_unloaded
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 50bd4ba5
Exception Offset: 629d2800
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Data: 00000008
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: fa66
Additional Information 2: fa6696398de2b9f98383d7a3bf5c3ea1
Additional Information 3: fa66
Additional Information 4: fa6696398de2b9f98383d7a3bf5c3ea1

netnazgul
03-11-2013, 02:38 AM
Devs had some problems with Steam Overlay so it was disabled in the latest build (you can see it stated here http://stoicstudio.com/forum/showthread.php?1067-Build-1-5-106).

sweetjer
03-11-2013, 10:11 PM
You should be able to make purchases outside of the game, as well. The exact method for how to do this is something I'm not quite sure about, but if I find the answer while I'm at work I'll post instructions in an edit.