PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion: Buff the shieldmaster

Kletian999
03-26-2013, 10:08 PM
I'm not an expert player yet, but I've found one trend disturbing. Unless I make a critical blunder like block my own units, if my opponent has a shieldmaster, I will win. Stoic's been doing a good job for the most part with unit parity but I find even if you use a Shieldmaster well, the other classes, or even another unit type, would be doing the job better.

A Shieldmaster, compared to the other Shield Varls (Strongarm or Provoker) in potential
1. Has medium armor 16 compared to 15 or 18.
2. Has Medium Str, 14 vs 15 or 12.
3. The same Will and Exertion (technically strongarm can have 9 vs 8 and 8.)
4. Has the highest armor break, 4 vs 2 or 3
5. Has the ability to (after performing a break attack) turn on a counter melee stance for 2 armor break instead of the usual 1 armor break.

In practice they can't have all max stats, so how we stat them controls their purpose.

Armor breaking role: They have the best break, and their power is tied to the stat, so how good are they at the role of breaking armor?

First they must get into melee range, being shield varls they have the toughest time doing this unless they are part of the front line charge. If they use exertion they'll likely burn their half+ their will to get into position rather then wait to be "first struck". Once there, they can EITHER turn on their ability, or use the will for 1-2 more to the target, doing a respectable 4-6 break, maybe more if the enemy chooses to melee them. Being a varl it's slightly more difficult for other melee to reach the broken target depending on where the rest of the enemy are. Having gone out front, he's the prime target for archer breaks that ignore his ability. Even maimed, he can continue to break, however later rounds pierce damage will absolutely destroy him. Also targets can always run away/around him.

In contrast to other breakers: