PDA

View Full Version : Ask Away!



HeadOpener
04-02-2013, 08:32 AM
So I thought I would post this up with a lot of folks currently new to the game and asking the same questions over and over.

Rather than do a huge FAQ ( I don't have that much time) I thought I would put this thread up and if you happen to have a question I will happily answer it for you. Now please note I am not a Dev nor a mod just a player. But thought I would offer this out there for anyone needing help with the game. I will check this thread a few times a day and will answer as and when I check any outstanding.
For some good tips though I would suggest this thread here What-have-you-Learned-to-becoming-a-Better-Player (http://stoicstudio.com/forum/showthread.php?907-What-have-you-Learned-to-becoming-a-Better-Player) might also be useful

So using this as an example of a thread from before Warhawk-friendly-fire (http://stoicstudio.com/forum/showthread.php?1472-Warhawk-friendly-fire)

The WarHawk (WH) special ability... When activated the floor shows purple tiles and the two/three/four you will hit show filled, they are clockwise from the unit selected. Higher ranks of the ability don't have to be selected when the WH is higher rank you still get to choose and pay the relevant will power cost for the right rank so 1,2,3 will hit 2,3 or 4 targets clockwise respectively.

Please note this will also hit your own units it is not enemies only. Sometimes this can be a benefit for turn advantage, killing of a crippled useless unit etc.

So any questions fire away, and if I don't know the answer I will bug Arnie,Raven or if needed Tirean,Netnazgul or someone until I find out ;)

Thanks so far for contributions by:
Leartes
Netnazgul

HeadOpener
04-02-2013, 10:30 AM
Q1 How to use the Skystriker and her ability - Submitted by mindflare77 Skystriker (http://stoicstudio.com/forum/showthread.php?1475-Ask-Away!&p=19417&viewfull=1#post19417)
Q2 How to use the Siege Archer - Submitted by mindflare77 Siege Archer (http://stoicstudio.com/forum/showthread.php?1475-Ask-Away!&p=19417&viewfull=1#post19417)
Q3 Do you need exertion to be able to use a special ability? - Submitted by Rensei
Exertion and ability use (http://stoicstudio.com/forum/showthread.php?1475-Ask-Away!&p=19556&viewfull=1#post19556)
Q4 The Provoker 0 exertion and rank 2 ability - Submitted by Rensai Provoker (http://stoicstudio.com/forum/showthread.php?1475-Ask-Away!&p=19562&viewfull=1#post19562)
Q5 Skystriker rank 2 and 3 ability - Submitted by Rensai Skystriker (http://stoicstudio.com/forum/showthread.php?1475-Ask-Away!&p=19778&viewfull=1#post19778)

HeadOpener
04-02-2013, 10:31 AM
and being ever the optimist reserve number 2 ;)

mindflare77
04-02-2013, 08:58 PM
What would be some effective ways to use a Rank 1 Skystriker? I've been discussing with a friend of mine, and he posits that Skystrikers are basically useless. I struggle to defend them because I'm very hit-or-miss with how useful they are in a given match for me. Either I do great (catch a Thrasher moving towards me on his turn for 8 STR [Thank you, Puncture!] to kill him, which is awesome) or I do terrible (Goodbye, four wasted turns and willpower!).

Also, are Siege Archers as... squishy as they seem? I feel like they are relatively soft, for needing to be closer to the front lines to be used efficiently. I don't have any, as I'm hesitant to upgrade a unit to something I won't like when renown is more difficult to come by for me.

Thanks!

Leartes
04-03-2013, 03:17 AM
Skystrikers:
To me they have 3 uses. In the beginning they can deal armor break or they can deny space. Breaking is pretty straight forward and not super willpower-efficient so I won't say much about that, but controling space is their special use. There are several ways to do that. Very early many opposing units can only reach your units over a specific way. (e.g. max move range) If you fear a unit you can block its path by an arrow. This is pretty hard for raiders but very easy for large varl. You can freely move into a warhawks range if you can block the warhawks attack path.
Another option is to keep an eye open for choke-points (e.g. between a terrain feature and a raidmaster in stonewall, or between two opposing units) and place an arrow next to that point. Yet, another option are corners. If you know someone has to move around a corner (e.g. some varl) and you place an arrow diagonally to that corner even small units have to take a very long way to circumvent the arrow.

Now, all these tactical option are only useful if you can hit/block a target that would otherwise deal significant damage (and/or leave it in a vulnerable spot). The ability is certainly not easy to use well, but it is pretty strong.

Later in the game, the skystriker turns into a great damage dealer using his passive ability. You are correct though, it is not easy to protect him savely until that point. But that holds true for all archers.

Siege Archer:
They are not squishy at all. Their armor got nerfed recently because they were just too tanky. When fighting with/against them, you have to keep in mind that they are pretty strong even with 1 strength left. The passive guarantees at least 2 break and 1 strength damage in all stages of the game. To take out a 9/7 siege archer you often have to break armor and hit her twice as she will deal guaranteed strength damage to you (and maybe you have to cross coals). So currently they are considered borderline overpowered in the current competitive scene. As far as I know, it is likely that we will see changes to her again in the future, so what I wrote above might not be true anymore after the next patch.

HeadOpener
04-03-2013, 04:11 AM
What would be some effective ways to use a Rank 1 Skystriker? … Either I do great (catch a Thrasher moving towards me on his turn for 8 STR [Thank you, Puncture!] to kill him, which is awesome) or I do terrible (Goodbye, four wasted turns and willpower!).
The very first trick to using a SS is using it offensively rather than defensively. What do I mean by this, well have you ever thought about a position where you wanted a unit to go and hit a particular unit of yours? How about putting the trap to stop him going the wrong way? Or putting the trap to pin a particular unit in place due to surround and fear/trap stopping them moving. These are the ideal uses, not the typical reaction of I will fish to try and trap someone on the way to hitting X. Some great explanation by Leartes I will add on here.

Controling space is their special use. There are several ways to do that. Very early many opposing units can only reach your units over a specific way. (e.g. max move range) If you fear a unit you can block its path by an arrow. This is pretty hard for raiders but very easy for large varl. You can freely move into a warhawks range if you can block the warhawks attack path.
Another option is to keep an eye open for choke-points (e.g. between a terrain feature and a raidmaster in stonewall, or between two opposing units) and place an arrow next to that point. Yet, another option are corners. If you know someone has to move around a corner (e.g. some varl) and you place an arrow diagonally to that corner even small units have to take a very long way to circumvent the arrow.
Don’t forget though ultimately the SS is an archer and does puncture in the say way a BM or SA does too. So if you have statted them right (you have got them 7/8/7/3/1 right?) then you can use them as a decent damage dealer with that 3 exertion too. Check out some of Tireans early vids here Tirean's videos (http://www.twitch.tv/tirean/videos?kind=past_broadcasts&page=3) in particular this one 4x Team (http://www.twitch.tv/tirean/b/371858673]Team building[/url] on how he used a SA and SS team where the SA armour broke and harassed while the SS did the puncture damage. Likewise some good offensive trap laying and where I learned a lot of my SS play myself :)


Also, are Siege Archers as... squishy as they seem? I feel like they are relatively soft, for needing to be closer to the front lines to be used efficiently. I don't have any, as I'm hesitant to upgrade a unit to something I won't like when renown is more difficult to come by for me.

I will start with the last bit first as it will also help to explain the other part, with regards to fear of upgrading them, they are actually the easiest to play as long as you remember to use the ability, the reason is even when maimed they do 2break and 1 str damage to a target at 5 squares range, with the added bonus of splash damage and zone control through the coals.
Again quoting Leartes great description

To take out a 9/7 siege archer you often have to break armor and hit her twice as she will deal guaranteed strength damage to you (and maybe you have to cross coals). So currently they are considered borderline overpowered in the current competitive scene. As far as I know, it is likely that we will see changes to her again in the future, so what I wrote above might not be true anymore after the next patch. .
Again I will use Tirean’s stream as an example of how they can be played differently and show you they really are not as soft as you think. http://tinyurl.com/cwcmqd2 and http://tinyurl.com/d28675e.

Rensei
04-05-2013, 02:55 AM
Hey. Couldn't find the answer anywhere:

Some troops have the option to have their exertion stat reduced to zero after promotion. My question is - if I leave a guy on, for example, 0 exertion and 2 willpower, will he still be able to use his ability or is the willpower just lost (since he obviously wont be able to use it to improve movement or attacks)?

netnazgul
04-05-2013, 03:05 AM
Ability is not influenced by exertion anyhow. Exertion is a way to use willpower for extensive movement and attacks, while active abilites are totally independent from that and can be used for any level up to your character's rank. For example, you can have your Backbiter statted as 12/10/6/0/3 (0 exertion) and he will still be able to use his Run Through at any level you choose (with respective willpower cost).

HeadOpener
04-05-2013, 03:07 AM
Hey. Couldn't find the answer anywhere:

Some troops have the option to have their exertion stat reduced to zero after promotion. My question is - if I leave a guy on, for example, 0 exertion and 2 willpower, will he still be able to use his ability or is the willpower just lost (since he obviously wont be able to use it to improve movement or attacks)?

Hi Rensei good question and one that a lot of people ask!

Exertion is only for increasing your movement or you break/Strength hits with will power. So you do not need exertion to be able to use your ability, however your unit will have less movement options and less burst damage options.
As Netnazgul says above

For example, you can have your Backbiter statted as 12/10/6/0/3 (0 exertion) and he will still be able to use his Run Through at any level you choose (with respective willpower cost).

So you will still use your will power in either 1,2 or 3 amounts depending on rank of ability used, so it is not wasted!

Rensei
04-05-2013, 03:23 AM
Thanks for quick answers! I am toying with Provoker and want him to have as much survivability as possible, while editing the stats I noticed I could reduce the exertion to zero.

While we're at it - I have the option to take him straight to level 2 - do You think it's a good idea? I always had problems with his short taunt range.

HeadOpener
04-05-2013, 03:29 AM
Thanks for quick answers! I am toying with Provoker and want him to have as much survivability as possible, while editing the stats I noticed I could reduce the exertion to zero.

While we're at it - I have the option to take him straight to level 2 - do You think it's a good idea? I always had problems with his short taunt range.

Exertion 0 is fine when you think about not using his damage etc, however he will move very slow, sometimes even 1 exertion helps with getting him into battle. Not saying 0 is bad, just worth considering depending on your battles.

Rank 2 is a whole new ball game, firstly it depends on what level your playing at. If I am honest I only play either power 6 or power 12 teams. If by ranking him to 2 you are playing power 7 then you might struggle to get matches for example. Power 6 and 12 is where the action is at right now due to tournaments and ranked matches.

However yes provokers shine better at higher ranks, the ranged taunt is great especially when paired with a SS and her trap or a SA and her coals as the taunted unit will run to the provoker to hit (assuming melee) or ensure they are at a range they can shoot (archer)

Rensei
04-08-2013, 02:21 PM
Can anyone explain how does a level 3 SS ability work? I have seen it mentioned few times here that it does a minimum of 6 health damage (1+2+3) to fully armored enemy.
From the ability description it looks to me that she shots 3 x 10dmg arrows (3 arrows +2str to each, assuming she is maxed on 8hp/str). Those 3 shots benefit from puncture, but since we are talking about the very beginning of the game, that is not an issue. So from my calculations she can hurt a well armored enemy for 3hp (those shots can't miss, can they?).

HeadOpener
04-08-2013, 05:54 PM
Can anyone explain how does a level 3 SS ability work? I have seen it mentioned few times here that it does a minimum of 6 health damage (1+2+3) to fully armored enemy.
From the ability description it looks to me that she shots 3 x 10dmg arrows (3 arrows +2str to each, assuming she is maxed on 8hp/str). Those 3 shots benefit from puncture, but since we are talking about the very beginning of the game, that is not an issue. So from my calculations she can hurt a well armored enemy for 3hp (those shots can't miss, can they?).

Close, the reason it works as 1+2+3 is that the arrows do the base 1 damage at rank 1. at rank 2 you fire two arrows, the normal base 1 damage plus the second which is now 1+1 so 2 and rank 3 follows on so base will be 1+2+3. Yes they all work with puncture and they add effective STR to the archer if at full str and the opponent has low shield it will do the damage applicable for the Str of the archer(+puncture) then the same again +1 str and again +2 str for rank 3 arrows.

Ahh ok, thanks a lot. Just saw it confirmed on Slimsy's vid. Must have misunderstood the description.

So to make it clear - the first arrow is normal, second comes with +1dmg added after armor calculations and third with +2dmg?

It does (str) + (str+1) + (str+2) damage with a minimum 100% hit of 1+2+3. So if you have strength overhit, you get a lot of bonus damage to deal from RoA.

Rensei
04-09-2013, 03:04 AM
Ahh ok, thanks a lot. Just saw it confirmed on Slimsy's vid. Must have misunderstood the description.

So to make it clear - the first arrow is normal, second comes with +1dmg added after armor calculations and third with +2dmg?

Butters
04-09-2013, 09:20 AM
I believe that is correct, Rensei.

netnazgul
04-09-2013, 11:50 AM
It does (str) + (str+1) + (str+2) damage with a minimum 100% hit of 1+2+3. So if you have strength overhit, you get a lot of bonus damage to deal from RoA.

Orath89
04-09-2013, 03:16 PM
I wanted to ask if a enemy unit commit suicide who gets the kill (is the same with WH frendly fire)?

Kuba
04-12-2013, 08:00 AM
During my playtime I got few questions:
1) Is it possible to dismiss units to less than 6 and at same time have not enough renown to hire new ones?
2) What is highest possible damage and armor-break done by single unit?

raven2134
04-12-2013, 08:11 AM
1. There should be something in the game to prevent this. However, there is no safeguard to prevent you from having less than 6 units you can field but having exactly 6 units (i.e. having a roster of 4 raiders 1 archer, 1 varl for example) when a 3 raider limit is in place. This means you have a total of 6 units, but only 5 which can be fielded.

2. Hmm...highest possible damage (str) would have to be Sky striker Rank 3 RoA

3 Arrows that also use puncture. If you struck the highest armor unit in the game while it was at 0 (PK) who has an armor max of 18, thats +9 effective strength. The arrows also do +1,+2,+3 str at Rank 3

So.

8+1+9 = 18
8+2+9 = 19
8+3+9 = 20

18+19+20= 57 str damage

Highest break in a single strike goes to WL who can have 4 natural +3 willpower boost for a single strike break of 7.

SM takes second place with 6 break in a single strike. Note his BtP can go as high as 4 break in retaliation vs a melee strike.

Kletian999
04-12-2013, 08:20 AM
During my playtime I got few questions:
1) Is it possible to dismiss units to less than 6 and at same time have not enough renown to hire new ones?
2) What is highest possible damage and armor-break done by single unit?

1. Someone in Strand chat a few days ago did claim he was stuck having dismissed his 6th unit without renown to hire. That's probably a bug though and I reported it as such.

2. A Warleader can do 4 Break +3 Exertion for 7 in one hit, a Shieldmaster can do 4 break +2 bonus from level 3 power (so 6), +4 if the enemy he hit hits him back. The Warmaster can cause 3 break to be added to his adjacent to target impact wave at level three. A Strongarm level 3 can hit for 5break+ number of units the target passes through (a varl could pass through 4 units)

For damage, the most that can be done to a single target is a Level 3 Skystriker using Rain of arrows with puncture bonus on a unit with high armor that's been broken to zero armor. This isn't really practical. A 16 Strength level 3 Warhawk can do 16 damage to 4 armor broken to 0 targets at once, plus his adjacent target shockwaves. More practically, he can hit two targets with 8 armor for 8 damage each, then have them shockwave each other for 1 more damage each. A Warmaster can do 18 damage to a single target with Sundering impact 3, +3 damage to anything adjacent to target.

raven2134
04-12-2013, 08:31 AM
That is true. I suppose if a level 3 WH used r3 tempest on 4 0 armor units, and lets say they were clumped 2 each on 1 side, and there were 2 varl behind the 2 formations, that theoretical damage would be

16x4 = 64
+2x4 = 8 from the shockwave (1+1 on both fronting units, 2 on the varl behind, 2 formations)

For a max of 72 strength damage. (divided by multiple targets).
*The SS can do 57 on a single target

This is theoretical tho, you would never see this happen in a game.

And yes, I forgot to consider the strongarm. That could be 5 break from ram, + up to 3 units passed thru (cos the target lands on the 4th tile back), for a max break of 8 on a single target in that ideal scenario!

A BB can achieve the same overall armor damage over several targets, doing a total of 8 divided by 4 targets (2 each) from a rank 3 run through, passing through a 4 human line.

Evil Laughter
04-12-2013, 08:42 AM
A theoretical r3 thrash could do 6 strikes + 3 on the last if he is surrounded, if they all went to armour that would be 9 break, or did I make a mistake?

raven2134
04-12-2013, 08:49 AM
Brilliant Evil laughter. Yes, the thrasher if extremely luck could r3 flail for 6 armor strikes and do a final bonus of 4 break if surrounded by 3 allies (last hit is 1+adjacent allies).

So 10 break on a single target, with a (0.5^6)*0.33 chance to occur (0.5% chance?).

Kuba
04-12-2013, 09:03 AM
Thank you all for your answers, guys. Speaking of breaking and thrasher, if r3 thrasher tried Bloody Flail on r3 Shieldmaster with 4-break RtF, he would lost all his armor, maximally 11, making Shieldmaster champion of breaking.

I have another question, what is maximum renown gained in single match, both with achievements and without them?

Leartes
04-12-2013, 09:11 AM
With achievements you can get tons of renown, I think I read somewhere about ~70 renown the day achievements were introduced.

Without it is 14 afaik.

EDIT: Stupid me, forgot underdog.

raven2134
04-12-2013, 09:19 AM
That's only cos the achievements were awarded retroactively. Hard to say how many achievements you could accomplish at the same time after a given battle.

Without it, the renown awarded can be summed as follows

6 for knocking out entire enemy team (win)
1 for daily login streak
1 for win bonus (win)
1 for win streak (starting on 3rd win)
2 for expert bonus
1-4 for underdog bonus
3 for eternal bonus

Add this all up and you can have a total of 18 renown without achievements

Kriegsturmer
04-12-2013, 11:37 AM
Is it considered bad form to use lower lvl units to decrease your teams power? For example, I have a lvl 2 unit and don't want to wait forever for a match in a 7 queue. I could throw a lvl 0 in there to keep it at 6. But, I know in other games with a similar mechanic this is frowned upon. Maybe I'm just better off waiting until I can get a full 12 team?

raven2134
04-12-2013, 11:51 AM
Not really frowned upon to do that. If you're grinding or looking for matches at more populated powers, it's something you'll really end up doing.

I suppose just try to teach newer players ;). That's how we handled skill gaps in the beta. It's not perfect of course, but once the MM has done it's job trying with the existing playerbase to find a close/exact power and skill (Elo) match, the rest is up to us, for now.

At the very least, the tools/playing field is even, and it's often the experience that creates the difference - despite how this can still be an issue.

hewnodinseye
04-14-2013, 07:27 PM
I wanted to ask if a enemy unit commit suicide who gets the kill (is the same with WH frendly fire)?

this one seemed to get left behind on 1st page.

who, if any, gets friendly fire and suicide kill?

raven2134
04-14-2013, 08:00 PM
Renown is awarded to the other team. But I believe no one claims that kill.

roder
04-16-2013, 10:06 AM
-What is the %chance to hit (or miss) for Thrasher's ability? Does it improve with rank
-Do you get more renown from ranked games vs quickmatches?
-Shieldbanger's passive procs from Warmaster's passive? or only if they're adjacent
-Fun Q: What happens when a 3Provoker taunts a until 3 spaces away, but theres a line of units in between them? Does it only show targets that are physically able to attack u?

Kuba
04-16-2013, 10:21 AM
About Thrasher from wiki:

The Thrasher strikes an enemy multiple times in a row. On all but the last strike, Bloody Flail deals either 1 Strength or 1 Armor damage, with equal probability (50%). On the final strike, things are more random: he has a 34% chance of doing 1 Strength damage (+1 per adjacent ally, max. +3); a 33% chance of doing 1 Armor damage (+1 per adjacent ally, max. +3); and a 33% chance of missing entirely! In overall, the outcome of the Bloody Flail is random and thus completely independent of the units' Strength-Armor difference.

At Rank-{1,2,3} the Thrasher's Bloody Flail strikes {4,5,6} times, respectively. The probabilities and damage per hit is the same for all Ranks.

raven2134
04-16-2013, 10:30 AM
You can get win streak bonus from ranked as compared to quickmatch, that is the only difference (1 renown), besides the game being recorded in Hall of Valor

Shieldbanger procs only if the attacking unit is adjacent

You can malice a unit even if it can't reach you. Not sure yet how it tries to path. It may move away.

Evil Laughter
04-16-2013, 10:41 AM
I believe a maliced unit picks the optimal path and goes as far as it can without spending willpower. Sometimes this is backwards

roder
04-19-2013, 12:20 AM
is tehre a way to figure out who goes first from the loading screen? (or before it begins)

raven2134
04-19-2013, 12:51 AM
Only during deployment. Top side goes first. (Not left or right, whoever is above in the map.)

Aleonymous
04-19-2013, 04:27 AM
Only during deployment. Top side goes first. (Not left or right, whoever is above in the map.)

Arnie has said (http://stoicstudio.com/forum/showthread.php?1438-Initial-Deployment-(-firepit-map-Texas-hold-em-Stalemate-and-double-or-nothing!)&p=19027&viewfull=1#post19027) that the one to act first is map-dependent, but, actually, not knowing who acts first was kinda planned, in order to add an element of surprise. However, for all five maps, this is the case (NW or NE acts first). Hope to see many-many more maps, so that it gets tricky remembering which is which.

stoicmom
04-19-2013, 08:55 AM
Nothing statistical here, but i go first about one out of 20 games on any map. Thought maybe it had to do with elo, too (if i am playing someone with a lower elo than i). According to what you two are saying, that isn't so.

Aleonymous
04-19-2013, 09:19 AM
Nothing statistical here, but i go first about one out of 20 games on any map. Thought maybe it had to do with elo, too (if i am playing someone with a lower elo than i). According to what you two are saying, that isn't so.

Hmmm, I'm not saying that you are supposed to act-first 50% of the time. Just that if you're deploying on the top, you'll act-first.

I've not done the statistics for myself, mainly because I start on top ~50%. Maybe its because I'm at beginner Elo (~1100) so chances I face opponents of similar +/- elo (QM or RM) are high. If you're on the high more solitary Elo (:)) maybe you'll QM lower-ranked opponents all the time, and the game gives then an advantage...

Stoic can tell us whether acting-first (== being placed on top) depends on elo-difference.

raven2134
04-19-2013, 09:36 AM
It shouldn't depend on Elo. It is random (stoic has said before I think). They have also evaluated whether there is a first mover's advantage. The statistics show first and second mover win about evenly (50-50). So it makes sense for it to be random, and it does not seem to constitute a definite advantage.

roder
04-22-2013, 12:56 PM
how big is each map? or how much tiles is between each team's frontline? ive never really payed attention but i know some are bigger than others

Aleonymous
04-22-2013, 01:50 PM
I'm not really sure, but I think most maps have 5-6 empty tiles between the front-most parts of each deployment area. EXCEPTION is "The Wall" map (http://bannersaga.wikidot.com/maps), where there's only 4 tiles!

roder
04-23-2013, 10:25 PM
I heard there was like a little corner in a map where a 1-tile unit can draw a fight out by hiding while a varl cannot get to it? is that true and which map is that

Guğmundr
04-23-2013, 10:43 PM
Hey rodereve, this problem used to occur on the Proving Grounds map (the one with a pillar in 2 opposing corners) but is now fixed. Varls can now navigate the entire map.

roder
05-08-2013, 02:35 AM
if I buy the skin pack (the color variation) am i still able to switch to the default color (will it cost extra renown?)

raven2134
05-08-2013, 07:10 AM
Once you buy the skin pack using real money, it doesn't cost you anything to change around colors.