PDA

View Full Version : Some minor problem with fonts



netnazgul
11-17-2013, 09:19 AM
For a while I was having a strange feeling of something being wrong when watching other people's streams. Recently I finally got some time to test it, realizing that there is something concerning in-battle fonts.

This is how I see numbers/words/post-battle report:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/59293229/Permanent/BSF%20font/2013-11-17_00012.jpghttps://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/59293229/Permanent/BSF%20font/2013-11-17_00016.jpghttps://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/59293229/Permanent/BSF%20font/2013-11-17_00040.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/59293229/Permanent/BSF%20font/2013-11-17_00093.jpg

And these are the same texts, but from Aleonymous' side:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/59293229/Permanent/BSF%20font/aleo/2013-11-17_00002.jpghttps://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/59293229/Permanent/BSF%20font/aleo/2013-11-17_00003.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/59293229/Permanent/BSF%20font/aleo/2013-11-17_00012.jpg

Other examples I've found looking into screenshot thread:
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-kmx-TSQBgU8/UT5IOWqMxHI/AAAAAAAAAR4/IQRJAIwINBA/s1280/photo.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/zOdLkzh.png
http://s22.postimg.org/kh1npyfq9/Numborz.jpg

So, is it some font I'm missing in "Windows/Fonts" or it's a game issue?

Guğmundr
11-17-2013, 09:56 AM
Hm, that is very interesting. Just checked, and I get Vinque (http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/typodermic/vinque/) on my end (like Aleo).

netnazgul
11-17-2013, 10:02 AM
OK, I've installed "Vinque" font and restarted Steam, seems that it worked for me.

It's a bit strange that some fonts are pre-installed in game and some not (I mean, most of the game is in Vinque font independent from whether it is installed or not, but not all of it)

Aleonymous
11-17-2013, 10:30 AM
I got two ideas as to what might have caused this:

[a] The game is largely written on Adobe Flash. Some functions (i.e. programs that display dialogue texts etc) might have the fonts embedded in them, while others might not.
[b] Some text might actually be an "image" (of that text), e.g. a jpeg file, and not some string of characters to be rendered with a specified font (if it exists, else a default one).

netnazgul
11-17-2013, 12:55 PM
I'm sure character names are not images and they are actually displayed correctly with Vinque.

So it's probably the former

Guğmundr
11-17-2013, 01:17 PM
OK, I've installed "Vinque" font and restarted Steam, seems that it worked for me.

Now that you mention it, I have Vinque installed on my PC as well. I went back and looked at an old match that I recorded before I installed the typeface, and sure enough, the text was in a generic serif typeface.

Aleonymous
11-17-2013, 02:54 PM
Now that you mention it, I have Vinque installed on my PC as well.

Same here.


I went back and looked at an old match that I recorded before I installed the typeface, and sure enough, the text was in a generic serif typeface.

Problem is, I don't recall when I actually installed Vinque to cross-check. I guess the time-stamp on the filename (in the fonts directory) will suffice to find out...

netnazgul
11-17-2013, 04:02 PM
So we identified the issue that Vinque font should be installed in the system for ingame fonts to work properly.

A question is - could this be done within Factions/Saga installation so that the user won't need to do it manually?