PDA

View Full Version : Animation For Allette not playing



HUAMI
07-08-2017, 09:22 AM
Hey guys, new player here. Just started the game and loving the atmosphere, but I just got to Rook's side and allete's thread the needle animation won't play? Any suggestions on how to fix it?

Aleonymous
07-09-2017, 02:06 PM
Hello there and welcome to the forums :)

Thanks for posting this; it is a known bug that surfaced a couple of weeks ago, since the last update... I hope they issue a hotfix for this one soon!

HUAMI
07-10-2017, 07:32 PM
Same! It's not gamebreaking but definitely better to have than not.

kranach
09-02-2017, 03:12 PM
Welp, I just started my adventure with Banner Saga and one of the first things I see is this sloppy bug.. Is this ever gonna be fixed?

Razorgirl
09-07-2017, 05:53 AM
I have this bug too, it's sad because I was just revisiting the game to finally finish it before buying Banner Saga 2 and it's so deflating to spend multiple turns setting up multiple dredge for Alette only to have the game stutter and not play her animation.

Ale, do you know if this is a bug that effects the entire game, is it related to a particular save instance or is it permanent no matter what you do? It's disheartening, I wonder if anyone can just take a quick look at it and push out a tiny hotfix, seems like a small thing, but with this type of beautiful hand drawn animation it's a shame to be missing it for the signature skill of one of the main characters, aesthetics are a huge reason why I love the game.

Aleonymous
09-07-2017, 07:48 AM
I have this bug too, it's sad because I was just revisiting the game to finally finish it before buying Banner Saga 2 and it's so deflating to spend multiple turns setting up multiple dredge for Alette only to have the game stutter and not play her animation.

Ale, do you know if this is a bug that effects the entire game, is it related to a particular save instance or is it permanent no matter what you do? It's disheartening, I wonder if anyone can just take a quick look at it and push out a tiny hotfix, seems like a small thing, but with this type of beautiful hand drawn animation it's a shame to be missing it for the signature skill of one of the main characters, aesthetics are a huge reason why I love the game.

It's an issue that popped up with the latest update. I am sad to say it affects all the game (not just a save-slot or something). I'll try to look for a simple way to fix this, until the hotfix is released (with the next update to the game, whenever that comes... :rolleyes:)

Razorgirl
09-08-2017, 01:46 AM
It's an issue that popped up with the latest update. I am sad to say it affects all the game (not just a save-slot or something). I'll try to look for a simple way to fix this, until the hotfix is released (with the next update to the game, whenever that comes... :rolleyes:)

Thanks! I love how helpful you are in like...every Banner Saga thread anywhere ever! Fingers crossed for a fix sometime soon so I can move on to Banner Saga 2 which looks amazing.

Aleonymous
09-08-2017, 03:39 AM
Thank you for your kind words :o

So, I contacted John (Watson, the tech director of the series) and he provided the fixed file. I will test it tonight, but here it is (https://www.dropbox.com/s/ucq7219v7ggj19i/alette.anim.json.z?dl=0), in case you wanna give it a shot too. Just go in the installation folder of the game and replace the existing file with that fixed one I linked above. (The file is somewhere near this path: assets/common/character/archer/alette.anim.json.z.) If you're on Steam, you can revert the change by "Verifying Integrity of Game Cache" anytime, but you can also keep a backup of the original file, in case anything goes terribly wrong (which I doubt).

EDIT: It does not appear to be working :( We'll get to the bottom of dis!

Razorgirl
09-08-2017, 02:31 PM
Thank you for your kind words :o

So, I contacted John (Watson, the tech director of the series) and he provided the fixed file. I will test it tonight, but here it is (https://www.dropbox.com/s/ucq7219v7ggj19i/alette.anim.json.z?dl=0), in case you wanna give it a shot too. Just go in the installation folder of the game and replace the existing file with that fixed one I linked above. (The file is somewhere near this path: assets/common/character/archer/alette.anim.json.z.) If you're on Steam, you can revert the change by "Verifying Integrity of Game Cache" anytime, but you can also keep a backup of the original file, in case anything goes terribly wrong (which I doubt).

EDIT: It does not appear to be working :( We'll get to the bottom of dis!

I'm at work but I will try it when I get home too just in case. Thanks for reaching out to John, I know they are a small team but I also know they take great pride in their work and would love for new people to the series to not miss out on how great their animations are.

Razorgirl
09-10-2017, 01:18 AM
I'm at work but I will try it when I get home too just in case. Thanks for reaching out to John, I know they are a small team but I also know they take great pride in their work and would love for new people to the series to not miss out on how great their animations are.

Doesn't work for me either :( I've noticed it plays correctly when you click on the Thread the Needle skill on her hero page, just not in combat. Hopefully John can figure out what is causing it and tweak it.

Aleonymous
09-11-2017, 05:22 AM
Yup, it's a different "pack" for that animation -- for whatever reason. I'll update if something new comes up. I think that the Chinese localization is in its final stages, and I think they intend to ship the hotfix together with that, in one push.

Aleonymous
09-12-2017, 03:41 PM
I figured out a solution. Please place this file I'm linking (https://www.dropbox.com/s/qaa41k77wh606bh/_ability_index.json.z?dl=0) in the installation folder:

..\Steam\steamapps\common\tbs\assets\common\abilit y\_ability_index.json
(backup original before overwriting). The timing is a still bit off (arrow lands, but target responds to hit with small delay, e.g. a split-second more than it should), but the animation plays out fine. Please confirm if it works!

Razorgirl
09-12-2017, 11:00 PM
Yes! It works! Thank you so much for taking the time to figure this out. I don't mind the slight delay, almost makes it more dramatic, as though time is slowing down for the arrow to go through. :o Can't wait to finish my first playthrough now! Still need help deciding which final choice to make for Banner Saga 2, but that's for another thread.:p

Aleonymous
09-13-2017, 02:54 AM
Ah, good news :) Glad to have helped and a good exercise for my modding/delving skills!

Final choice: That's a tough decision... I always go by fatherly "instinct" and refuse Alette the chance to take the Silver Arrow. It just doesn't feel right, after I know what happens... Besides, Alette actually turns out much stronger than Rook in Saga2 ;)