Results 1 to 14 of 14

  Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: Game crashes on startup

  1. #1
    Junior Member Reinios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    8

    Game crashes on startup

    The second time I try to start up this game after installing, the game crashes with this error. This is my second install of the game and the second time it's crashed. It never crashes the first time I start up the game. I'm on windows XP, service pack 2. Is anyone else running into this?

    Code:
    AppName: the banner saga factions.exe	 AppVer: 0.0.0.0	 ModName: unknown
    ModVer: 0.0.0.0	 Offset: 08a7a8fc
    from the windows Event Viewer:

    Code:
    Faulting application the banner saga factions.exe, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module unknown, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x08a7a8fc.
    
    For more information, see Help and Support Center at https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
    Code:
    0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74   Applicat
    0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c   ion Fail
    0010: 75 72 65 20 20 74 68 65   ure  the
    0018: 20 62 61 6e 6e 65 72 20    banner 
    0020: 73 61 67 61 20 66 61 63   saga fac
    0028: 74 69 6f 6e 73 2e 65 78   tions.ex
    0030: 65 20 30 2e 30 2e 30 2e   e 0.0.0.
    0038: 30 20 69 6e 20 75 6e 6b   0 in unk
    0040: 6e 6f 77 6e 20 30 2e 30   nown 0.0
    0048: 2e 30 2e 30 20 61 74 20   .0.0 at 
    0050: 6f 66 66 73 65 74 20 30   offset 0
    0058: 38 61 37 61 38 66 63 0d   8a7a8fc.
    0060: 0a                        .
    Fantastic game by the way. Would be neater if I didn't have to reinstall it every time to play! :P
    Last edited by Reinios; 02-28-2013 at 02:21 AM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Reinios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    8
    Here's my most recent log from the file under tbs_logs
    Code:
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130 Build:
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130         Version: 1.5.97
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130              Id: 2013-02-26_16-55-56
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130 Capabilities:
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130       isDebugger: false
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130         language: en
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130     manufacturer: Adobe Windows
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130               os: Windows XP
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130 pixelAspectRatio: 1, dpi: 72
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130       playerType: Desktop
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130       resolution: 1280 x 1024
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130  touchscreenType: none
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 130          version: WIN 11,5,502,110
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 134 CONFIG HOSTS buildRelease=dev
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 142 AirAppInfo.loadIni checking for iniFile: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Jeremy.SCUZZBUTT/tbs_config.ini
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 145 SteamworksAne loaded
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 145 SteamAPI_RestartAppIfNecessary RESULT 219340 false
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1222 SteamAPI_Init RESULT true
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1222 STEAM Init OK attempt 0
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1317 invokeHandler reason=standard arguments=
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1317 invokeHandler appInfo.nativeAppUrlRoot=file://C:/Program Files/Steam/steamapps/common/the banner saga factions/win32/
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1317 cwd=file:///C:/Program%20Files/Steam/steamapps/common/the%20banner%20saga%20factions
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1319 arguments length=0, value=
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1320 renderMode=direct
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1320 No command line arguments, using AppInfo args=[null]
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1322 parseArguments 
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1324 spritesheet=true
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1345 CONFIG runMode=BETA
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1345 CONFIG assets=file://C:/Program Files/Steam/steamapps/common/the banner saga factions/assets
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1345 CONFIG gui=file://C:/Program Files/Steam/steamapps/common/the banner saga factions/gui/
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1345 CONFIG server=https://tbs-dev-live.stoicstudio.com/
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1446 FmodSoundDriver loaded
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1462 FmodSoundDriver initialized
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1465 FmodSoundDriver.onStatusEvent info: initFMOD
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1466 FmodSoundDriver.onStatusEvent info: FmodAne::System_GetVersion: 0x00044402
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1683 HttpCommunicator hostUrl=https://tbs-dev-live.stoicstudio.com/
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1706 SteamUser_GetSteamID RESULT 76561197978798011
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1706 SteamID_GetAccountId RESULT 18532283
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1706 StartState.handleEnteredState $$ STEAM ID=76561197978798011, account 18532283
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1706 StartState.handleEnteredState $$ showing login screen and completing
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1711 PreAuthState.handleEnteredState STEAM TICKET=5/1400000069C41D301F3D2683BBC71A0101001001354F2D51180000000100000002000000C79AD06C000000003B427C0104000000B20000003200000004000000BBC71A0101001001CC580300C79AD06C9001A8C000000000A7162C5127C64751010000000000000000007427D1E426D482416B88BDA543E41211C71B1511B14276EC357EECBDA3D2C2FFCA29F0900506E38469819171219D859E1124032161637E572CFCF6E0AAF68D9CC26E94CBE68C4CE37EC18AA307DD5A397B08D3AD866F6A1A64B6418F366B3A9CD8DED1588F257FEF391B9F306402769D5E4CDDD02E8BE1167A6594A2FC6F8F0A
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 0 1715 AuthState AUTHENTICATING https://tbs-dev-live.stoicstudio.com/, 13d1a504a76: 0 steam=76561197978798011
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 21 2505 Credentials.sessionKey 11492 null Psycho Society 7fffffffc0eca204
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 21 2505 Assigned SessionKey 7fffffffc0eca204
    [INFO]  (TBS-0) 37 4555 AnimClipDef.cacheFrames AnimClipDef{_id:"vfx_soldiers_wall", _url:"town/strand/vfx.strand.swf/vfx_soldiers_wall", _numFrames:982} is too large, giving up at frame 191/982 after MB=50

  3. #3
    Junior Member Anurak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    12
    I have a similar(??) problem in a Windows XP SP3 PC. After the first game I played which was interruptedby an update, I can't connect anymore. I get "The Banner Saga Factions.exe has encountered a problem. ...".

  4. #4
    Junior Member Anurak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    12
    The first time I start the game after each installation the game runs smoothly. The problem appears only after I exit the game and then start it again. I tested the problem by unistalling the game and re-instaling it twice today and that seems to solve the problem of the crashing on startup (before town). It is however extremely annoying despite the small size of the game.

  5.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #5
    We just put up a new build and should fix the issue if not let us know. Thanks!

    Please see our notes for the new build https://stoicstudio.com/forum/showthr...-Build-1-5-106

  6. #6
    Junior Member Reinios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    8
    Still getting the error I'm afraid.

  7. #7
    Junior Member Anurak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    12
    The only time I tried opening the game after the update last night I didn't get the error so I assume is has been fixed. However now I get the message "The Seas Of The Network... Renavigating" and it doesn't connect. Anyway, it's good to see progress with the bug fixing.

  8. #8
    Developer raven2134's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    1,061
    Hi Anurak. Server just went down. Stoic will be coming back in to work in a couple of hours, and the server will be brought back online. Sorry about that. Hopefully you'll have a smooth experience soon!

  9.   This is the last staff post in this thread.   #9
    Reinios have you tried installing the game in a different folder location?

  10. #10
    Junior Member Reinios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    8
    The only places steam allows me to install is the steam folder and, for some reason, D:, my backup partition. I tried just dropping the installed folder somewhere else, but it still crashes.

  11. #11
    Junior Member WeihGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    7
    Not working for me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •