Thread: Four Lenses for Thinking About Strength

Junior Member Unconfirmed Account Cibyl's Avatar

Four Lenses for Thinking About Strength

Good afternoon (morning, evening, etc.) all,

I just started playing Banner Saga: Factions last week when it was released on Steam and I've been quite enjoying it. I have watched several of the tutorial videos and read through many of the new player posts that people have contributed to these forums. For what it is worth, I'd like to give a big thank you to everyone who contributed to helping newer players enter the game successfully.

In the past week of playing Banner Saga: Factions, I've been working things around in my head in terms of the best way to measure strength. There are several lenses to use when it comes to strength, and different aspects of the game seem to interact with these different lenses. While I don't have a "grand unified theory of strength" yet, I thought that I would write up how I'm currently thinking about strength in the hopes that people will share their thoughts about how they measure strength.

Lens #1: Aggregate Strength
    Aggregate strength is the total amount of strength you have on your team. For example, two Warriors and four Raiders would have an aggregate strength of (12+12+9+9+9+9) = 60. Aggregate strength is an important lens to use because it's how you win the game: you need to bring your opponent's aggregate strength down to zero. Hand in hand with this, if you can maintain an aggregate strength rate advantage (i.e.: if you can make your opponent lose X+1 strength per turn while you are only losing X strength per turn) then you're going to win the game (assuming that you started with roughly equivalent aggregate strength).

This lens seems to have two implications on gameplay:
    • You should attack a unit's strength instead of its armor.
    • Going for big hits is better than going for small hits.