Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What have you Learned to becoming a Better Player?

What have you Learned to becoming a Better Player?

Hi, this is for experienced players and new players. I wanted to start a thread in which players would share small distinctions they've learned when playing Factions. It can be concerning tactics, team lineup, composition, stats, placement or anything else you might think other players would find helpful. I want to try to keep it simple.

So here's mine...
    I've played beta some, mostly with fully promoted units. But once I started playing with the basic team, I felt very clumsy and incapable. I was getting crushed in every game. After a right-awful match with another player, he gave me some advice. That was to think of Varls as either tanks or attackers, and I realized, with the starting team, I was not assigning roles to any my units.

Once a team is full of promoted & customized units, they both look different and behave differently, each with a defined role. However, when your team is all basic units, this distinction isn't as apparent (in my case at least).

The issue was that I was generalizing all of my units as Attackers/Meatshields/&-Armor-Breakers. Once I gave my starting units individual roles at the beginning of the match I started setting specific units to the side as Strength damage dealers and attempted to place my designated armor-break units in positions they'd be most effective as armor breakers, as if they were promoted & specialized units. After that, I noticed I was playing much more effectively.

It's not much, but it was very helpful to me, and have since felt less clumsy in battle.

If you have any specific experiences/distinctions to share that might be helpful to becoming a better player, then please share them!

-Example-example: ..found out that 1 more exertion allowed my unit to reach the second row of the starting lineup on the first turn.